Annual General Meeting 2019

29th July 2019

95th WMDCC Annual General Meeting 


On Sunday club members met for our Annual General Meeting, and there were a few major talking points to come from it. We'd like to thank Frankie Walsh (Cricket NSW) and Scott Thomas (NDCUA) for attending and addressing the crowd of 35+, which was a great showing.

After 9 years at the helm, Paul Burke decided to step away from the Presidency due to health and family reasons. Burkey has been the heart and soul of the club for so many years and the countless hours he has dedicated to Waratah cricket should not be taken lightly. His presence on the management committee will be sorely missed, but we remain hopeful of seeing him around the ground this summer.

Life member Simon Thibault stepped up to take the vacant role and will use all of his experience to guide us through the transition into a new Waratah chapter. Jake Lowe and Lachy Taylor are the other new faces for the 2019/20 season.

In general business, the Foster family announced a very generous donation to the club in memory of their son and club favourite Gary. The new committee will decide how best to use the funds to honour the memory of Gaz.

Also in general business, the outgoing committee awarded our junior scholarship to 5 recipients - Sean Lynch, Olivier Koehn, Samuel Guy, Jimmy Skelly and Daniel Redpath, and highlighted the success of the inaugural recipients in 2018/19.



New Committee for 2019/20 Season:

President: Simon Thibault
Vice President: Steve Christie
Secretary: Keith Brackenbury (
Treasurer: Grant Jones
Assistant Secretary: Josh Brackenbury
Assistant Treasurer: Jake Lowe

Management Committee:
Jack Dundas, Lachy Taylor, Michael Redpath, Michael Skelly, Rory Guy, Yianni Carathanassis, Gary Sweetman


Thankyou to the guys like Aaron Lynch, Adam Lowe and James Mellon who have put their hands up for non-committee volunteer roles. We need more volunteers to assist with things like scoring and the canteen on Saturdays. If you are interested, please contact our retained Secretary, Keith Brackenbury.

<< Previous | Next >>